Clare Hayward to chair LEP


Clare Hayward – director of global leadership, talent and engagement consultancy Cirrus – has today been announced as the new chair of Cheshire and Warrington Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP).

The independent chair of the LEP’s recruitment panel, Robert Davis commented: “We are delighted Clare has accepted this role.

“As an already active member of the LEP Board and having founded and developed two high-growth international businesses, Clare is a respected and hugely successful business-leader.” 

Clare led the development of the LEP’s £30m transformative skills programme for Cheshire and Warrington, as chair of its employers skills board.

She was awarded an MBE for services to economic regeneration in Macclesfield in the 2018 Queen’s Birthday Honours – she founded and chaired Make it Macclesfield, undertakes extensive charity work and is a serving deputy lieutenant of Cheshire.

Clare takes up the role on 1st April, succeeding Christine Gaskell, who during her 9-year tenure has helped secure half a billion pounds of investment for Cheshire and Warrington.

Speaking about her appointment, Clare said: “Building on Christine’s successful tenure as chair, I feel privileged to have been selected to lead an organisation that makes such a difference to Cheshire and Warrington.

“Bringing the private and public sector together to focus relentlessly on what our economy needs today and tomorrow.”

She continued: “We have one of the most successful economies in the country but we need to ensure we continue to work together to drive forward innovation; retain and attract more businesses and talented people; and develop the skills and career opportunities that will have the greatest impact on every person who lives and works in our region.

“I look forward to working with the board and executive team to ensure the priorities of business are understood by government so that we can further strengthen Cheshire and Warrington’s already impressive contribution to the Northern Powerhouse.” 

Clare was selected following an open competition. The recruitment panel consisted of Robert Davies as independent chair of the panel along with Roger Marsh and Cllr Louise Gittins.